Home > Uncategorized > My Video Card

My Video Card

I think this video card is part of some vast conspiracy to slowly destroy my sanity, or stop me from playing WoW. Because one day I’ll snap and hit my computer so hard it pops out in the middle of the Indian Ocean.

It will probably be whirring, still. I just won’t be able to hear it.

You see, I was all ready to write up a real post. I even made a rough outline, which I only do when I’m Doing Work, Tthen my graphics card started resonating, as it has been doing for the past… well, since about two weeks after I bought it. And I know it’s the video card, because when I press firmly on the card, it stops. Or at least lessens. Also, the other fans in my system are silent.

So in a fit of simultaneous OCD and procrastination, I pulled it out, attempted to lubricate the ONLY MOVING PART ON THE CARD (which is inaccessible for the purposes of lubrication), and replaced it. That failed. So now I’m back to percussion therapy, which stops it for a little while. Eventually my metacarpals will break, or my computer will finally decide that Violence Is Not The Answer, and cease operation. Or there’s that ocean thing.

Regardless, this is one of many stupid little things that keeps me from doing other, bigger things. For some reason, my brain only works on one project at a time, and usually only long enough to start them (all that “finishing” work is boring, man!) And all this buzzing is slowly driving me insane.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 26, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    tell me more about the ocean thing?

  2. Rick
    July 26, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    You mean punching my computer so hard it travels through the Earth and (ignoring gravity and all manner of other physics) pops out whole, and functioning, in the middle of the Indian Ocean? What more is there?

  3. July 26, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    ah, gotcha. makes sense to mee

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

