Home > Uncategorized > Well, Sometimes

Well, Sometimes

Far Side image

That’s pretty much how we are around here right now.

It’s now August, so I think we’ll do a quick recap this week. We’re going to have a quick mundane minutiae discussion, and then I’ll let you get back to your business.

First off, I’ve been playing a lot of Xbox lately. I’m thinking this device is the single largest sucker of creative time ever invented. (Close behind: the internet, television, anything that runs on electricty and has been invented since 1925.) We have a 360, yet we’re continuously playing original Xbox games on it. Things we missed on the first run because we didn’t own an Xbox. Things like Knights of the Old Republic, which my wife has finished and I’m now getting around to working through. Things like Lord of the Rings: The Third Age, which is the LotR version of this webcomic, in which the hapless Gordon Frohman is forced to follow about five minutes behind the famed Gordon Freeman of Half-Life fame.

Anyway, lots of Xbox. Honestly, I’ve spent more time playing downloaded demos than I have playing actual Xbox 360 games, and that’s because I’m damn poor. I’ve also played a bunch of 1 vs. 100 Xbox Live. (Just this weekend I won a free Live Arcade game. Then some anonymous dickhead sent me a voice message calling me a faggot. This was attached to a friend request. Needless to say I declined that one.)

I’ve also finished reading a couple of books, and picked up Stephen King’s Wizard and Glass: the Dark Tower IV. I bought it the day it came out in paperback, way back in high school, and never finished it. I guess being in speech and drama and having a job and hunting after the ladies and playing guitar will occupy prime reading time. So, going for the second shot. Considering the first book in the series, The Gunslinger, is one of my favorite books ever, I’ll probably finish the damn thing eventually.

The past couple of weeks I’ve been helping a friend back home design their project studio for audio recording. The experience is fun, but I’m doing things that most people get paid to do. It’s a trade-off, I suppose. Doing the friendly thing, you know. A little frustrating, but I think that ultimately it will be worth it. I can’t wait to hear stuff that will be done in there.

I’ve started a new blog about Magic: The Gathering. I don’t think I’ll ever stop having opinions about the game, and I wanted to try out WordPress as a blogging platform, so I decided to jump back into things. You can read it here, if you’re in to that kind of thing. I’ll be posting more there in the future. Also, you can expect this very site to be moving to WordPress once I get the gumption to do it.

Semi-related to this is the fact that I’m attempting to start a schedule proper for myself. I’m considering getting a part-time job to supplement some income (since I have yet to figure out how to earn money off this “writing” thing), so we’re researching daycares and whatnot. I might finally be able to get some work done without having to fight with my daughter about her wanting lunch at 10am instead of a normal noon-centric lunch time. Despite the fact that I’m writing this at nearly 4pm, my most productive working time is in the morning, so I’m trying to integrate that knowledge into a schedule that allows me to actually produce during that time. We’ll see how that turns out. If I can keep myself to 1500 or so words a day, that should get me toward novel territory in a few months’ time.

Of course, I spend entirely too much time on forums, Facebook, and reading stupid crap on the internet. I wonder sometimes if I have ADD. (Why am I holding a liver?)

So anyway, that’s the most up-to-date stuff I can think of right now. I don’t think this will be my only post this month, but I know I have two slated for September: a review of the new Dethklok album, and a post-show report of U2 at Soldier Field in Chicago. So stick around, fall should be fun!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

