Home > del.icio.us, facebook, remember the milk, twitter, web 2.0 > Did I Miss Something?

Did I Miss Something?

February 17, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

As some of you have no doubt noticed by now, I’m at the computer a lot. Like, a lot. I’d say I spend about 50% (or more) of my waking hours at my computer, in my apartment, every day. Having a two-year-old daughter has a lot to do with that.

But it wasn’t always so. Just three months ago I was attending classes in web design, and I was shuffling between home and campus every day. I had things that needed sorting, organizing, listing. So I took it upon myself and looked into a couple of neat-o Web 2.0 apps, Remember the Milk and del.icio.us. I realized some things. Mainly, though, I realized one big thing: pen and paper are not dead.

Reports of the death of the written language are widely exaggerated.

See, when I need to remember something, I can write it in my handy-dandy Moleskine. I can make a note on my phone. I can write it on my hand. When did we become so interconnected that we couldn’t, y’know, write a note that said “Remember the Milk” and leave it at our desk in the office?

I will admit that del.icio.us in particular is a different kind of animal, as it’s a social network as much as it’s a place to store your bookmarks online, but in the end, it’s really just something you don’t necessarily have to take with you everywhere you go. How many travelling internet-folk don’t take their laptop or netbooks with them wherever they go (and need to use the internet)? Want to share your cool new website with your friends? Just IM them or e-mail them. Or have we gotten to the point that e-mail is too slow and inefficient? If so, I suggest you loosen up your schedule. Or look into microwave Pop-Tarts instructions. And also a good cardiologist. Because that much stress? Probably not good for you.

Now, I’m not saying that the whole “Web 2.0” thing is a bunch of useless crap. I’m on Facebook, I’m on Twitter. Hell, I’m writing a blog right now. (I used to be on Myspace, but it’s ugly, it’s inefficient, and it’s like walking down the halls of a junior high nowadays, cluttered with corporate junk and stupid drama. I think Facebook is already at that point, but people still seem to be using it.) But I’m saying let’s use the technology for useful stuff, not things that people have been doing for hundreds of years, i.e., writing quick crap notes to themselves. Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.


Heed this guy’s advice

“What about remembering when to do things?” you’re probably saying. “What about my schedule?” …what about your cell phone? Chances are pretty good you’ve got a reasonably-priced, moderately-featured phone. It’s probably got a calendar on it. It’s probably got alarms and notifications you can set yourself. And if you’re like me, and have a Windows Mobile phone, Outlook can sync your calendar between your desktop and your phone, doing exactly what Remember the Milk does. Sure, it’s evil, soulless, corporate Microsoft, but some of their goodies work. (It should be noted that I don’t use Outlook for my e-mail. Fuck that noise. Just calendars and contacts, thanks.)

I guess, though, this is really just a long-winded way of saying “Am I missing something?” I mean, when I first jumped on Twitter, it only took a couple minutes to see the basic use for it, and it’s definitely outside the realm of “What are you doing?” But with Remember the Milk and del.icio.us, I think I missed a meeting. Making a list when you could just make your own list with a pen? Sharing your bookmarks to the world at large? So?

If you can enlighten me further, please, let me know. And dear baby god, let it pass the “So What?” test.

  1. C2theK
    February 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I agree; I’ve never found anything digital that works as well as old fashioned pen and paper.

    Speaking of we’re not the only ones:
    Hipster PDA

    Moleskins are nice. I don’t own one, but I bought a couple as gifts for a writer friend and a illustrator friend. I like the vintage look and feel. They make anything written in them, epic, even if it is ‘remember the milk’. A hundred years from now your great grandchildren can say ‘great grandpa remembered the milk on…
    ‘.

    Microsoft is evil, but their technology works will together. If we’re ever going to make it to a Star Trek utopian society, technology has to work together (and not crash).

  2. Adam
    March 6, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    We’re already spending a ridiculous amount of time with the internet and our technological toys as it is. Go outside and do something, while there is still an outside left.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

